What Education Is Required to Be an Architect?

A degree in Architecture is the main requirement to become an architect.

Checkout this video:


The type of degree required to become an architect varies by country. In the United States, most states require that architects be licensed by the state in order to practice architecture. Typically, licensure requires the successful completion of an accredited Professional degree in architecture, or its foreign equivalent, and a passing score on the Architect Registration Examination. licensure. In the United Kingdom, an accredited degree is required in order to become a Chartered Architect.

Bachelor of Architecture

A Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) is a professional degree in architecture, typically taking four years to complete. The degree is awarded after completing a course of study at an accredited school of architecture. After completing a B.Arch., graduates are eligible to take the professional licensing exam in their jurisdiction and become licensed architects.


A bachelor’s degree in architecture is typically the minimum education required to become an architect. However, many architects also pursue a master’s degree in architecture, which can take an additional two to five years to complete. Some states also require architects to complete a period of internship before they can receive their license.

National Council of Architectural Registration Boards

In order to become a licensed architect, one must first graduate with a professional degree in architecture, typically a Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) or a Master of Architecture (M.Arch.). Once you have obtained your degree, the next step is to complete an internship, which is required by most state registration boards. The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) offers the Architectural Experience Program (AXP), which provides guidelines and resources to help interns complete their experience requirements.

Once you have completed your internship hours, you will then need to pass the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). The ARE is a multi-part exam that tests your knowledge of architectural principles and practices. Once you have passed the ARE, you will be eligible to receive your license and become a registered architect.


To practice Architecture in the United States, one must earn a degree from an accredited Professional Architecture program and pass the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). licensure is the process of becoming a licensed architect.

State-specific requirements

licensure is the main thing you need before you can start working as an Architect. Each state has different requirements for licensure, but all states require passing the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). In order to sit for the ARE, you must have completed a National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degree. There are currently 122 schools with NAAB accredited programs, and you can find a list of them here.

Once you have completed your degree and passed the ARE, you will need to complete a certain amount of experience working under the supervision of a licensed architect. The experience requirements vary by state, but most states require at least three years. After completing your experience requirements, you will need to take a state-specific architecture exam. Once you have passed this exam, you will be a licensed architect!

Continuing Education

Although an architect may be licensed to practice after completing a five-year accredited professional degree program, many states require architects to complete continuing education to renew their licenses. Most states require licensure renewal every two to three years. The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) offers a Voluntary Architecture Registration Examination (VARE) that, once successfully completed, can be accepted by most state registration boards in lieu of their own exams.

Maintaining registration and licensure

Most states require continuing education (CE) for architects to maintain their registration/licensure. The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) requires architects to complete continuing education to maintain their Architectural Registration Examination (ARE) credential. Some states accept courses accredited by NCARB, while others have their own requirements.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) also offers CE courses for architects. AIA members can access a library of online courses and webinars, as well as discounts on in-person seminars and conferences. Many of the AIA’s learning opportunities can be used to satisfy state CE requirements.

Some states allow architects to fulfill CE requirements by teaching courses or presenting at conferences. Other options for meeting CE requirements include writing articles or books related to the profession, or participating in volunteer work with professional organizations.

Scroll to Top